further evidence of summer:

we went sailing last weekend! it was an unexpected and welcome invitation. our friend and captain is sri lankan (“the pearl of the orient”; his beautiful sailboat is named pearl), so we slipped into island time together. most of us need more of that; i know i do. 

walking along the docks in the marina, i found seapeace. she made me dream of leather-faced sailors with craggy laugh lines around their eyes. i started to breathe easier than i have in awhile, before we even left our port.

and soon, but not too soon, pearl’s sails were up and the wind pulled us on up river.

there was a stop for ice cream treats.

& we anchored and swam in the currents of the columbia river. we swam a long while there, clean and free.

swimsuits ware optional. it was that kind of day.

(you will just have to trust me on that one.)& then came the setting sun and the black strap dark & stormys, in celebration of so many things. a celebration of love and friendship, and the slowing of time, and of exploration and possibility. there was a late-night potluck of home-smoked meats & homegrown salads & fresh bread & fruit. we watched the big, almost-full moon rise. there was so much quietness and so much talking– kind words, mostly. and the whole while, being there with those people i love, steeped in sun and wind and moon and gratitude, i knew that i’d remember it forever. i am certain i will.

4 thoughts on “further evidence of summer:

  1. Emily,
    What a beautiful, peaceful way to spend the past weekend. There is something so peaceful about sailing, I sailed for years on the Columbia every Wednesday and then on weekends. I believe you really honored the past weekend by spending it in natural peace, sharing love, friendship, freedom, and oneness. There really is a oneness about sailing, it does not work if you don’t work together. Thank you for sharing! I can feel the peace, and my breath is easier.
    Some quotes I’d like to share ……..
    The human spirit needs places where nature has not been rearranged by the hand of man.  ~Author Unknown
    Every time we walk along a beach some ancient urge disturbs us so that we find ourselves shedding shoes and garments or scavenging among seaweed and whitened timbers like the homesick refugees of a long war.  ~Loren Eiseley


  2. I found myself sighing as I read this post, so relaxing and picturesque! I think it’s a sign I need some time out…we have a weekend away on the bike coming up and I cannot wait! Thanks so much for sharing, helped me realise I’m just a little stressed and need to take better care of myself!
    I love Cathy’s quotes too, perfect!
    Nel xo

Leave a Reply

